Hester Classroom Management And Me, The Future: Part 1

While enjoying a February spring break get-away to sunny Connecticut, I tried my hand at being productive. It worked decently. The trip, centered around visiting my long distance girlfriend, Steph, provided me with a lot of fun and enjoyment. It’s always great getting to spend an extended amount of time with her whenever I can and leaving is never fun. She is an engineer at a relatively massive company with a global headquarters in London and the brains to my brawn. These brains however, mean she was at work from 9-5 and, I was… alone. So, so alone. But with a shot of productivity! I could accomplish things! And by “things,”I mean, solo netflix and chill. Needless to say, no lawsuits were being filed during those days. By day 3, I searched for a different productivity.

On that lonely 3rd day,  I decided to watch videos centered around classroom management. I will teach and I want to be good. Borderline really good. Maybe even better. My brother, also an education major and attending the same prestigious university as myself told me to take a look at some videos online of a “great teacher who knows what he is doing.” Binge watching comedy standups online finally took a backseat on this day and I began working on that productivity thing.

The videos centered around a teacher of the year working with a 9th grade English class and flaunting his skills. There was a set of 3 classes uploaded before the idea was potentially deserted? A shame, in my eyes. Working in Richmond, California with students in a poor economic and learning environment, Mr. Hester used his quirky ways to introduce the class to himself, his expectations and one another. With consistent silence that he had demanded from the beginning of the video, the students met his expectations. I was intrigued immediately. How could he have such success?

I’ve taken some notes I want to share over the next few days and posts about these classes on youtube and the style Hester utilizes in his classroom. He is unconventional and strict beyond belief which is something  I feel as though many future teachers I associate with to be afraid of enforcing. Why not analyze it and comment on it with my own thoughts?

I’m not sure this is my Making A Murderer…I had a helluva time with that show… But it is a series I’ll be starting and commenting on for next few posts. These videos convinced me to get back into the blogging world. “My opinion is important,” is what I told myself as I watched these videos and saw the comments section was blocked off. “I must tell the world how I feel,” was also murmured. So I will do just that! Be on the lookout and for those hoping to watch the video, I’ve provided a link below to the first class.

 

Cheers, ya’ll and enjoy!

 

Leave a comment